Approved minutes of the June 24, 2008 regular Board of Directors Meeting.

HOUSTON AREA LEAGUE OF PC USERS MINUTES OF June 24, 2008 BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING 4543 Post Oak Place Houston, Texas

## ATTENDEES:

### Officers:

Robert E. Gunn President

Larry Dillard VP-SIGS (absent)
Rick Archibald V.P. Programs
Jay Thomas V.P. Communications

Al Greene Treasurer

#### Directors:

Robert Carlile Director
Stephen Cravey Director
Tom Dillard Director
Bear Jones Director
Wes Leggett Director
John Lightsey Director
Annette Story Director
Reuben Wilson Director

## Directors Elect:

Kelly Brown Director Mark E Crain Director Allan Holtzmann Director Michael J. Lempel Director Mary Ann Mitscherling Director Susan Ostlund Director Chris Read Director Remigio "Mickey" Revilla Director James R Story Director George Vaughn Director

Conflict of interest statements were collected for all directors in attendance, only Larry Dillard was absent.

Written reports were provided to the board by those in charge of Communication, Membership, Programs, and by the Treasurer.

The meeting was called to order at 7:38 PM in Sig room A at HAL-PC headquarters Robert Gunn presiding.

The President introduced the election committee chairperson Carla S Cawlfield who provided the results of the election, in written form, and spoke about possible improvements to the election procedures.

The President then provided a recent history of HAL-PC and his association with same. He also discussed the challenges that HAL-PC faces going forward.

Communications vice-president Jay Thomas read and discussed his report. Marilyn Gore provided

the URL to a major revision of HAL\_PC's web site and invited comment.

Programs vice-president Rick Archibald read and discussed his report.

Membership Secretary Rubin Wilson delivered his report to the assembly. The problem of membership attrition was discussed.

Treasurer Al Green delivered and discussed his report.

Steven Cravey made a motion to approve the minutes of the April regular board meeting. A second was heard. Mark E Crain noted that there was mention of an appendix (not present) on the first page. The recording secretary explained that he had consulted Robert's Rules regarding the inclusions of reports and based on this had decided to omit the appendix. This line was deleted and the minutes were approved by acclamation.

At 8:51 PM Bear Jones moved for a short recess. There being no objection the President suggested a five minute break. The assembly reconvened at 9:00 PM.

The assembly took up the matter of electing officers.

Rick Archibald nominated Robert E. Gunn as President, and a second was heard. No other nomination were heard and Robert E. Gunn was so elected.

Next nominations were taken for the vice president of Special Interest Groups (SIGs). Annette Story nominated Rick Archibald.

Bear Jones nominated himself.

Jay Thomas nominated Larry Dillard.

Bear Jones withdrew his nomination.

Al Green moved to close nominations, and a second was heard.

A vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in eleven votes for Rick Archibald and nine votes for Larry Dillard.

Next nominations were taken for the vice president of Communications.

Rick Archibald nominated Jay Thomas. No other nominations were heard and Jay Thomas was elected by acclamation.

Jay Thomas nominated Kelly Brown for vice president of Programs and a second was heard. No other nominations were heard and Kelly Brown was elected by acclamation.

Next nominations were taken for the office of Treasurer.

John Lightsey nominated George Vaughn.

Jay Thomas nominated Al Green.

No other nominations were heard and a vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in a tie of ten votes for each candidate. The President broke the tie by casting his vote for Al Green.

At this point the argument was made that the bylaws required twelve votes to elect an officer. This is based on a reading of the bylaws provided below and on a board of twenty three members.

# ARTICLE III. OFFICERS

"C. All Officers shall be elected from members of this Board by a majority vote of the number of Directors fixed by these Bylaws."

Nominations were taken for the position of Membership secretary.

Mary Ann Mitscherling nominated James R Story.

Jay Thomas nominated Susan Ostlund.

A vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in a tie of ten votes for each candidate. Rick Archibald and George Vaughn changed their votes be in favor of Susan Ostlund providing the needed twelve votes. Bear Jones moved to accept Susan Ostlund as Membership secretary. The motion passed by acclamation.

Nominations were taken for the position of Recording secretary.

A member of the assembly nominated Annette Story.

Bear Jones nominated Wesley Leggett.

A vote was taken by a show of hands resulting again in a tie of ten votes for each candidate.

Rick Archibald proposed the compromise of electing

Wesley Leggett to the position of Recording secretary and

George Vaughn to the position of Treasurer.

George Vaughn's qualifications for the position were discussed and Al Green agreed to relinquish claim to the office in favor of George Vaughn. No objections were heard to this and George Vaughn was elected to the position of treasurer by acclamation.

Nominations were again taken for the position of vice president of Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

Stephen Cravey nominated Larry Dillard.

Allan Holtzmann nominated Rick Archibald.

A vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in eleven votes for Larry Dillard and ten votes for Rick Archibald.

A vote was again taken by a show of hands for the position of Recording secretary. Eleven votes were cast for Annette Story and ten votes were cast for Wesley Leggett.

The President announced that based on the inconclusive vote that Larry Dillard and Wesley Leggett would continue to serve in their present positions until ta successor could be elected.

Mary Ann Mitscherling moved, and a second was heard, that the regular meeting of the Board of Directors be moved from its present day of the month to the third Thursday of the month. The meeting schedule was checked and it was noted that all suitable spaces were presently in use during the proposed day. A vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in five for and nine votes against. The motion failed.

Bear Jones moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be on the appropriate day in October. The motion was seconded and Bear moved to call the question, which was also seconded. A show of hands yielded ten votes in favor of calling the question. Following some discussion a vote was taken by a show of hands resulting in eleven votes in favor and ten votes against the next meeting being held on October 28, 2008.

James R Story moved, and a second was heard, that the next meeting be held on July 22, 2008 at 7:30. A vote was taken be a show of hands resulting in eleven votes in favor and nine votes against the next meeting being held on July 22, 2008 at 7:30.

Steven Cravey moved to adjourn and a second was heard. The motion passed by acclamation and the meeting ended at 9:36 PM.

Wesley Leggett Recording Secretary