Approved minutes of the July 22, 2008 regular Board of Directors Meeting. Any corrections, changes, additions to these minutes will be provided following approval of the minutes by the Board.

HOUSTON AREA LEAGUE OF PC USERS MINUTES OF July 22, 2008 BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING 4543 Post Oak Place Houston, Texas

#### ATTENDEES:

### Officers:

Robert E. Gunn President

Larry Dillard First Vice President SIGS Kelly Brown Vice President Programs

Jay Thomas Vice President Communications (absent)

George Vaughn Treasurer

Susan Ostlund Membership Secretary
Wes Leggett Recording Secretary

#### Directors:

Rick Archibald Director Robert Carlile Director Mark E Crain Director Stephen Cravey Director Tom Dillard Director Al Greene Director Allan Holtzmann Director Bear Jones Director Michael J. Lempel Director John Lightsey Director Mary Ann Mitscherling Director Chris Read Director

Remigio "Mickey" Revilla Director (absent)

Annette Story Director
James R Story Director
Reuben Wilson Director

A written report was provided to the board V.P. Communication.

The meeting was called to order at 7:33 PM in Sig room A at HAL-PC headquarters
Robert Gunn presiding.

Bear Jones moved to accept the minutes as submitted. Some revisions were offered but following discussion Larry Dillard moved to accept the minutes as submitted, a second was heard. The motion passed with one member objecting.

Reports were provided by the following:

President's Report (Robert Gunn)

First Vice-President SIGS (Larry Dillard)

Vice-President Communications (Jay Thomas, read by Steven Cravey)

Vice-President Programs (Kelly Brown)

Treasurer (George Vaughn)

Membership Secretary (Susan Ostlund)

Nominations were taken for the two (2) Directors elected by the Board at its July meeting to serve on the executive committee.

A vote was taken by a show of hands for the following candidates with the result:

Michael J. Lempel 12 Al Greene 12 Chris Read 7 Annette Story 5

Al Greene, Michael J. Lempel were elected to serve on the executive committee.

The president delivered his committee assignments to the assembly in written form.

Some members wished to be added to or change to a committee different from that which they had been assigned. No objection was heard to any of these changes and the final assignments are provided below.

### HAL-PC COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS 2008/2009

# Executive Committee:

Robert Gunn President (chair)

Larry Dillard VP-SIGs

Jay Thomas VP-Communications

Kelly Brown VP-Programs George Vaughn Treasurer

Susan Ostlund Membership Secretary
Wes Legget Recording Secretary

Al Greene Director Michael Lempel Director

### Finance:

George Vaughn (chair) Robert Gunn Al Greene Marie Todaro

# Publications:

Jay Thomas (chair) Carla Cawlfield Meridith Foster Beverly Rosenbaum

# Property/Security:

Robert Gunn (chair)
Robert Carlile
Larry Dillard
Allan Holtzmann
Wes Leggett
Steven Cravey

# Legal:

Al Greene (chair) Robert E. Gunn Michael Lempel

## Rules:

Robert Gunn (chair) Carla Cawlfield Michael Lempel

# Library:

Bear Jones (chair) John Lightsey Mary Ann Mitscherling Annette Story James Story

### Bulletin Board:

Robert E. Gunn (chair)
Robert Carlile
Larry Dillard
Allan Holtzmann
Stephen Cravey
Wes Leggett
Jay Thomas

# Member Services:

Sue Ostlund (chair)
Mark Crain
David Crook
John Furby
Bear Jones
Mary Ann Mitscherling
Chris Read
Annette Story
James Story

#### Elections:

Carla Cawlfield (chair)
Stephen Cravey
Marilyn Wright Gore
Allan Holtzmann

Special Interest Groups ("SIG"):
Larry Dillard (chair)
Rick Archibald
Kelly Brown
Tom Dillard
John Lightsey
Reuben Wilson

### Programs:

Kelly Brown (chair) Marilyn Gore Mickey Revilla

Public Relations/Marketing:
Kelly Brown (chair)
Mickey Revilla
Bear Jones
Sue Ostlund

Chris Reed brought several matters before the assembly. Following some discussion these matters were withdrawn.

John Lightsey brought a motion before the assembly. Following some discussion the motion was lost for lack of a second.

Larry Dillard moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be held on November 18, no second was heard.

Al Greene moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be held on December 24, no second was heard.

Bear Jones moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be on the appropriate day in September, no second was heard.

Annette Story moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be held on August 26. A second was heard. A vote was taken by a show of hands with 7 in favor the motion was lost.

Larry Dillard moved that the next meeting of the Board of Directors be held on November 25. A second was heard. A vote was taken by a show of hands with 10 in favor and 10 against. The chairman voted in favor and the motion was adopted.

Larry Dillard moved to adjourn and a second was heard. The motion passed by acclamation and the meeting ended at 9:36 PM.

Wesley Leggett Recording Secretary